Images - Ottawa

Reserve Hotels & Packages

 
 
 
 
 
 
Getting to Ottawa
Getting Around Ottawa

Ottawa Event Calendar

28NOV

Nature Nocturne: One in a Billion

Nov 28, 2014
Canadian Museum of Nature

 

3DEC

Alberta Ballet : The Nutcracker

Dec 3-7, 2014
National Arts Centre

 

3DEC

Christmas Lights Across Canada

Dec 3, 2014 – Jan 7, 2015

 
More Events
 

2014-2015Ottawa Visitor Guide

View our Ottawa Visitor Guide online to plan your stay in Canada’s Capital region.

2014-2015 Ottawa Visitor Guide
 

Ottawa 2017

How to Stay Active in Ottawa this Spring & Summer

How to Stay Active in Ottawa this Spring & Summer

One of the greatest things about Ottawa is that you don’t need to drive an hour outside of the city to enjoy waterways, greenery and sports. More than 300 km (186 miles) of pathways crisscross through the city, which also connect Ottawa to Gatineau, Québec, allowing you the opportunity to bike, in-line skate, hike, run or walk virtually anywhere you desire; world-class golf courses are located within and around Ottawa, including Marchwood , a PGA-approved short course. You won’t believe you can get this close to nature this close to a major city!

 

Running

Ottawa Race Weekend
Join thousands of runners from around the world during the Tamarack Ottawa Race Weekend this May 24-25, 2014. Children, youth, and veteran runners take over Ottawa during this weekend for a number of events, including a kid’s marathon and two- and five-kilometre runs. The centrepiece of the weekend, though, is the Ottawa marathon, celebrating its 40th edition in 2014. As the largest marathon in the country, and cited as one of the must-run routes, some of the best runners from all corners of the world enter for a chance to win this prestigious event. If watching is more your sport, the marathon passes many of Ottawa’s major landmarks, so there are plenty of great spots to cheer on these athletes.

Hiking

Gatineau Park
Gatineau Park is an excellent spot for a hike through nature, spanning 361 square kilometres (over 89,000 acres). Located just 15 minutes north of Parliament Hill, Gatineau Park offers over 165 km (102 miles) of trails, with something for everyone whether you are a beginner or an avid hiker.

Cycling

Sunday Bikedays
Use your bike or inline skates or just hoof it and explore hundreds of kilometres of paved pathways; winding along rivers and the Rideau Canal; flat and easy or mountainous and challenging—the choice is yours. Sunday Bikedays actually close 52 km (32 miles) of the most picturesque rides to motorized vehicles and let cyclists, inline skaters and runners rule from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Sunday Bikedays run from Victoria Day weekend in mid-May to Labour Day weekend in early September.

Gatineau Park
Gatineau Park offers plenty of scenic options for cyclists, located just 15 minutes north of Parliament Hill. Enjoy the Park’s parkways which consist of 32.5 km (19 miles) of panoramic winding roads (these can be quite challenging!). And as the season continues, the park becomes a haven for mountain bikers, who enjoy 90 km (55 miles) of trails.

Swimming

Gatineau Park
Take a dip in one of the beautiful lakes at Gatineau Park. There are five public beaches in the Park open from mid-June to Labour Day in early September:

  • O’Brien Beach (Meech Lake)
  • Blanchet Beach (Meech Lake)
  • Breton Beach (Philippe Lake)
  • Parent Beach (Philippe Lake)
  • La Pêche Beach (La Pêche Lake)

City of Ottawa Beaches
Spend an afternoon at the beach. These City of Ottawa beaches are open from mid-June to the end of August. Lifeguards are on duty weekday hours Monday to Friday from 12:00 noon to 7:00 p.m. and weekend hours Saturday, Sunday and statutory holidays from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.

  • Britannia Beach: 2805 Carling Avenue
  • Mooney’s Bay Beach: 3000 Riverside Drive
  • Westboro Beach: 234 Atlantis Road
  • Petrie Island Beach: 727 Trim Road

Calypso Theme Waterpark
Open from early June to early September, fun awaits you at Calypso Theme Waterpark, the largest theme waterpark in Canada, located only 20 minutes east of downtown Ottawa! Calypso covers more than 100 acres, with wet and wild adventures for everyone. Looking to slip and slide? Well, they have more than 35 waterslides to race down. Prefer to take on the waves? You’re in luck, as they have Canada’s largest wave pool. Hankering for a thrill ride? You can take on Aqualoops, a roller coaster-like slide that drops you into the ride through a trap door!

Golfing

Ottawa is a golfer's dream destination, with what many claim is more golf courses per capita within easy driving distance of downtown than any other Canadian city – and most in North America. From challenging courses – including the Robert Trent Jones II designed Marshes at Brookstreet and Stonebridge, the public club that feels private – to executive par-3 courses and everything in between, you'll want to pack your clubs for any trip to Ottawa, spring through fall.

Bungee Jumping

Great Canadian Bungee
If adrenaline is what you’re after, brave-hearted visitors can bungee jump from a platform which towers 200 feet above a limestone quarry lagoon, larger than 3 football fields. Great Canadian Bungee is located just 20 minutes north of downtown Ottawa, in Chelsea, Québec. If bungee is not your thing, you can come watch your friends and party! They have B.B.Q. and picnic facilities, a lifeguard beach, a volleyball net and much more at this hidden paradise.

Ziplining & Aeriel Parks

Camp Fortune Aerial Experience
Defy gravity at Camp Fortune Aerial Experience. Open from May to October, located just 15 minutes north of downtown Ottawa. The course features suspended walkways, rope bridges and net gangways. Set aside at least three hours for this exhilarating adventure that includes thrilling zipline rides guaranteed to get your heart rate up!

Great Canadian Bungee
Have you always wanted to fly like a bird? Now’s your chance! The Great Canadian Bungee’s RIPRIDE is a 1015 foot cable slide that starts at a spine-chilling 200 feet above the crystal-clear waters of the lagoon. The first 100 ft. of the ride, an accelerating cruise over land, doesn’t even begin to prepare you for the remainder. You start to scream as you approach the now visible 150 ft. shear drop-off, but you are strapped in and past the point of no return. You now have 915 ft. of cable to zip down at an average speed of 85 km/hr.

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorCheck out what other travelers say about Ottawa on TripAdvisor.

Images - Ottawa

Réservez Hôtels et Forfaits

 
 
 
 
 
 
Se rendre ici
Se déplacer en ville

Calendrier d'événements

25sept.

RIBtoberfest

Du 25 au 28 septembre 2014
Village de la rue Sparks

 

15oct.

Rendez-vous des Saveurs de l'Outaouais

Du 15 au 19 octobre 2014
Casino du Lac-Leamy

 
Plus d’ événements
 

2014-2015Guide touristique d’Ottawa

Consultez en ligne notre Guide touristique d’Ottawa de 2014-2015 pour planifier votre séjour dans la région de la capitale du Canada.

Guide touristique d’Ottawa de 2013-2014
 

Ottawa 2017

Comment rester actif à Ottawa ce printemps et cet été

Comment rester actif à Ottawa ce printemps et cet été

L'un des grands attraits d'Ottawa, c'est qu'on peut profiter de la verdure, des cours d'eau et des sports sans avoir à rouler pendant des heures hors de la ville. Sur les plus de 300 km (186 milles) de chemins qui sillonnent la ville, et qui relient aussi Ottawa à Gatineau, au Québec, vous pouvez faire du vélo, du patin à roulettes, de la randonnée, de la course à pied ou de la marche pratiquement où vous le désirez. La ville d'Ottawa et ses environs comptent aussi des terrains de golf de classe mondiale, comme Marchwood, un parcours à neuf trous approuvé par la PGA. Vous aurez peine à croire qu'on peut être si proche de la nature à si faible distance d'une grande ville!

 

Course à pied

La Fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa
Venez vous joindre à des milliers de participants du monde entier à l'occasion de la Fin de semaine des courses Tamarack d'Ottawa, les 24 et 25 mai 2014. Lors de cette fin de semaine, Ottawa se trouve envahie d'enfants, de jeunes et de moins jeunes qui viennent participer à divers événements, dont un marathon pour les enfants et des courses de 2 et 5 km. Mais la pièce maîtresse de cette fin de semaine, c'est le marathon d'Ottawa, qui fête son 40e anniversaire en 2014. C'est le plus grand marathon au Canada, et sa renommée est telle que chaque année, les meilleurs coureurs des quatre coins du monde s'y rendent pour tenter de remporter cet événement prestigieux. Si vous êtes plutôt du genre spectateur, le marathon passe par de nombreux sites emblématiques de la ville, d'où vous pourrez encourager les athlètes.

Randonnée pédestre

Parc de la Gatineau
Si vous aimez vous promener dans la nature, le parc de la Gatineau est fait pour vous! Avec ses 361 km2 (plus de 89 000 acres), il offre à seulement 15 minutes au nord de la Colline du Parlement plus de 165 km (102 milles) de sentiers où chacun y trouve son bonheur, du débutant au randonneur chevronné.

Vélo

Les vélos-dimanches
À vélo, en patin à roues alignées ou à pied, des centaines de kilomètres de chemins goudronnés s'offrent à vous. Vous pouvez vous promener tranquillement le long des rivières ou du canal Rideau, ou bien faire des parcours plus ardus et montagneux, c'est à vous de choisir. Lors des vélos-dimanches, 52 km (32 milles) de route sont fermés aux véhicules à moteurs de 9 h à 13 h pour permettre aux cyclistes, aux patineurs à roues alignées et aux piétons de découvrir ces chemins pittoresques en toute liberté. Les vélos-dimanches commencent mi-mai, à la fête de Victoria, et se poursuivent jusqu'à la fête du Travail, début septembre.

Parc de la Gatineau
À 15 minutes seulement de la Colline du Parlement, le parc de la Gatineau offre aux cyclistes de nombreux parcours aux paysages variés. Sur les promenades du parc, vous avez 32,5 km (19 milles) de routes sinueuses à explorer, avec des points de vue splendides (il faut parfois les mériter!). Tandis que la saison avance, le parc devient le paradis des vététistes, avec ses 90 km de sentiers de vélo de montagne.

Baignade

Parc de la Gatineau
Venez vous baigner dans l'un des magnifiques lacs du parc de la Gatineau! Le parc compte cinq plages publiques, ouvertes de mi-juin à la fête du Travail, début septembre :

  • la plage O’Brien (lac Meech)
  • la plage Blanchet (lac Meech)
  • la plage Breton (lac Philippe)
  • la plage Parent (lac Philippe)
  • la plage La Pêche (lac La Pêche).

Plages de la ville d'Ottawa
Venez passer l'après-midi à la plage! Les plages de la ville d'Ottawa ci-dessous sont ouvertes de mi-juin à fin août. Des maîtres nageurs sont en fonction du lundi au vendredi de midi à 19 h, et le samedi, le dimanche et les jours fériés de 11 h à 19 .

  • Plage Britannia : 2805, avenue Carling
  • Plage de la baie Mooney : 3000, promenade Riverside
  • Plage Westboro : 234 , chemin Atlantis
  • Plage de l'île Petrie : 727, chemin Trim.

Parc aquatique thématique Calypso
Ouvert de début juin à début septembre, le parc aquatique thématique Calypso est le plus grand de ce genre au Canada. Il est situé à seulement 20 minutes à l'est du centre d'Ottawa. Calypso offre plus de 100 acres de folles aventures dans l'eau pour les petits et les grands. Vous aimez les glissades? Pas de problème, vous trouverez plus de 35 toboggans d'eau dans le parc. Vous préférez les vagues? C'est votre chance, Calypso possède la plus grande piscine à vagues au pays. Vous cherchez plutôt des sensations fortes? Essayez Aqualoops : dans cette glissade, le plancher s'ouvre sous vos pieds et vous lâche directement sur un parcours de style montagnes russes.

Golf

Ottawa est une destination de rêve pour les golfeurs. On dit que c'est la ville qui compte le plus de terrains de golf par personne à courte distance du centre au Canada, et dans la majorité de l'Amérique du Nord. On y trouve des parcours techniques, comme The Marshes à Brookstreet et Stonebridge, un club public aux airs de club privé créé par Robert Trent Jones II, mais aussi des parcours exécutifs à normale 3 et tous les autres types de terrains imaginables. À Ottawa, du printemps à l'automne, les bâtons de golf sont indispensables!

Saut à l'élastique

Great Canadian Bungee
Accro à l'adrénaline? Essayez-vous au saut à l'élastique! À 200 pieds de haut, les visiteurs au cœur bien accroché s'élancent de la plateforme au-dessus d'un lagon trois fois plus grand qu'un terrain de football, situé dans une carrière de calcaire. L'entreprise Great Canadian Bungee est située à 20 minutes au nord du centre-ville d'Ottawa, à Chelsea, au Québec. Si vous préférez garder les pieds bien au sol, venez vous amuser et encourager vos amis! Dans cet oasis caché, vous trouverez des installations de barbecue et de pique-nique, une plage surveillée, un terrain de volley-ball et bien plus encore.

Tyrolienne et parcs aériens

Expérience aérienne de Camp Fortune
Défiez la gravité avec l'expérience aérienne de Camp Fortune! Ouvert de mai à octobre, ce parc à seulement 15 minutes au nord d'Ottawa vous propose des passerelles suspendues, des ponts de singe et des filets de sécurité. Prévoyez au moins trois heures pour profitez de cette aventure exaltante, avec des parcours de tyrolienne à couper le souffle!

Great Canadian Bungee
Vous rêver depuis toujours d'avoir des ailes? Nous avons ce qu'il vous faut! Le RIPRIDE offert par Great Canadian Bungee est constitué d'un câble à glissière de 1015 pieds de long. Les frissons commencent lorsque vous êtes propulsé à une hauteur de 200 pieds au-dessus des eaux claires du lagon. Les premiers 100 pieds de la course sont équivalents à une croisière accélérée dans les airs, mais au point de vue des sensations, ce n'est rien comparé à ce qui vous attend. Vous commencez à crier dès que vous atteignez la chute de 150 pieds, mais vous êtes heureusement attaché et vous avez désormais atteint le point de non-retour. Il vous reste maintenant l'équivalent 915 pieds de câble à descendre à une vitesse moyenne de 85 km/heure.

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorJetez un coup d’œil dans TripAdvisor pour savoir ce que d’autres voyageurs disent d’Ottawa.