Images - Ottawa

Reserve Hotels & Packages

 
 
 
 
 
 
Getting to Ottawa
Getting Around Ottawa

Ottawa Event Calendar

8JULY

Mosaika: Sound and Light Show

July 8 - Sept 6, 2014

 

10SEPT

Ottawa Folk Festival

Sept 10 - 14, 2014

 

17SEPT

 
More Events
 

2014-2015Ottawa Visitor Guide

View our Ottawa Visitor Guide online to plan your stay in Canada’s Capital region.

2014-2015 Ottawa Visitor Guide
 

Ottawa 2017

Prime Patios

Luxe Bistro

What better way to celebrate summer than with a list of some of Ottawa’s greatest patios?

BYWARD MARKET NEIGHBOURHOOD

This is patio central. If there’s a stretch of sidewalk available in front of a restaurant, there will be a patio. Some favourites?

Romantic: The back patio at Murray Street Kitchen Wine Charcuterie is a slice of heaven. It’s sheltered from the street with interesting art and it becomes progressively shadier as the summer progresses (grapevines gradually fill in the overhangs). The Black Thorn Café on Clarence Street has a front patio that’s nice, but walk into the cobblestone courtyard and you’ll find their spacious back patio overlooks a sprightly fountain (currently under repair), some greenspace and the tin façade of a house mounted on the imposing stone walls of the Sussex Drive buildings.

Social: Still romantic but a bit more social are the four restaurants that share the Clarendon Courtyard behind the shops on Sussex Drive between George Street and York Street. Fine dining awaits at the hip Social, the musically diverse Black Tomato, the inventive Courtyard Restaurant and the old-school Italian Mamma Grazzi’s Kitchen. Other social patios in ‘the market’ district include the trendy Metropolitain Brasserie Restaurant, the classy The Keg Steakhouse & Bar, and the contemporary Steak Modern Steakhouse Lounge.

Sunniest: The Cornerstone Bar & Grill is on the southeast corner of Clarence Street and William Street and gets tons of sun. Likewise, the Earl of Sussex patio (Sussex Drive at Murray Street) benefits from a particularly sun-filled location. You can chase the sun through about 5 different outdoor locations at the Heart & Crown pub — the Irish Village complex has an interior courtyard, sidewalk locations on Clarence and Parent and upper and lower decks overlooking Murray Street.

Best People-Watching: The Aulde Dubliner and Pour House at George Street and the William Street Mall give you a great look at the action in the neighbourhood — the Pour House in particular as it’s on the second floor (use it to gauge how long the lineup is at the nearby BeaverTails stand!). At the same corner, you can indulge in pizzas and pastas from The Grand Pizzeria and Bar while watching the world walk by. Meanwhile, Luxe Bistro at the corner of York Street and ByWard Market Square — and the Empire Grill at Clarence and Parent — are both prime people-watching spots, too.

Rooftops: You’ll love the views from the roof of Stella Osteria and Mambo Nuevo Latino on Clarence Street include glimpses of the Parliament Buildings!

OTHER NEIGHBOURHOODS

Elgin Street is another great nightlife area, and the patio at D’Arcy McGee’s won’t disappoint, with its million-dollar views of the National War Memorial, Fairmont Château Laurier, National Arts Centre and more. Speaking of the National Arts Centre, their Le Café dining room overlooks the Rideau Canal — perfect for a summer’s evening! Further down Elgin Street you’ll find Lieutenants Pump Pub, Slice & Co., and St. Louis Bar & Grill – all great casual spots to grab a pint with some friends!

On Preston Street (Ottawa’s Little Italy), you can whet your whistle at another branch of the Heart & Crown or at Pub Italia – yes, an Italian-themed pub!

The New Edinburgh neighbourhood boosts a huge rooftop at the aptly-named New Edinburgh Pub or you could explore some locally brewed beers at the Clocktower Brew Pub (note: the beers are brewed at the location in the Glebe neighbourhood, which also sports a patio).

Speaking of brewpubs, you should also check out the impressive Mill Street Brewpub just west of downtown near the Canadian War Museum or venture over to the wonderful Brasseurs du temps in Gatineau, Québec.

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorCheck out what other travelers say about Ottawa on TripAdvisor.

Images - Ottawa

Réservez Hôtels et Forfaits

 
 
 
 
 
 
Se rendre ici
Se déplacer en ville

Calendrier d'événements

17sept.

 

25sept.

RIBtoberfest

Du 25 au 28 septembre 2014
Village de la rue Sparks

 

15oct.

Rendez-vous des Saveurs de l'Outaouais

Du 15 au 19 octobre 2014
Casino du Lac-Leamy

 
Plus d’ événements
 

2014-2015Guide touristique d’Ottawa

Consultez en ligne notre Guide touristique d’Ottawa de 2014-2015 pour planifier votre séjour dans la région de la capitale du Canada.

Guide touristique d’Ottawa de 2013-2014
 

Ottawa 2017

Terrasses Sensationnelles

Luxe Bistro

Quoi mieux qu’une liste de terrasses formidables d’Ottawa pour fêter l’été?

LE QUARTIER DU MARCHÉ BY

C’est l’endroit des terrasses. S’il y a un bout de trottoir disponible devant un restaurant, il y aura une terrasse dessus. Voici certaines des préférées.

Romantisme : La terrasse arrière de Murray Street Kitchen Wine Charcuterie est un coin de paradis. Elle est protégée de la rue par des œuvres d’art intéressantes et devient de plus en en plus ombragée à mesure que l’été avance (la vigne remplit graduellement les encorbellements). Le Black Thorn Café, situé sur la rue Clarence, possède une jolie terrasse avant et, en traversant sa cour intérieure en pavés, vous découvrirez que sa vaste terrasse arrière donne sur une fontaine jaillissante (en cours de réparation), un espace vert et la façade en métal d’une maison montée sur les murs de pierre imposants des édifices de la promenade Sussex.

Sociabilité : Les quatre restaurants qui partagent la cour Clarendon derrière les magasins de la promenade Sussex, entre les rues George et York, sont eux-aussi romantiques, mais un peu plus axés sur la sociabilité. L’établissement branché Social, le Black Tomato avec sa musique variée, le novateur Courtyard Restaurant et la Mamma Grazzi’s Kitchen avec sa table italienne à l’ancienne servent tous de la cuisine gastronomique. Autres patios sociaux dans le quartier du ‘marché By’ incluent le restaurant à la mode Métropolitain Brasserie, le chic The Keg Steakhouse & Bar, et le restaurant contemporain Steak Modern Steakhouse Lounge.

Lieux les plus exposés au soleil : Le Cornerstone Bar & Grill situé au coin sud-est des rues Clarence et William reçoit beaucoup de soleil. La terrasse de l’Earl of Sussex (sur la promenade Sussex, à l’angle de la rue Murray) se trouve aussi à un endroit particulièrement ensoleillé. Vous pouvez suivre le soleil sur la terrasse en vous plaçant successivement à 5 endroits différents au pub Heart & Crown — le grand ensemble de l’Irish Village dispose d’une cour intérieure, d’emplacements sur les trottoirs de la rue Clarence et de l’avenue Parent, ainsi que de terrasses, aux niveaux inférieur et supérieur, qui donnent sur la rue Murray.

Les meilleurs endroits pour observer les gens : L’Aulde Dubliner and Pour House sur la rue George ainsi que le mail de la rue William donnent un bon aperçu de ce qui se passe dans le quartier – la Pour House s’y prête particulièrement bien puisqu’elle se trouve au deuxième étage (allez-y pour évaluer la longueur de la file d’attente qui se trouve devant le kiosque le kiosque Queues de castor situé à proximité!). Au même coin de rues, vous pouvez vous savourer une pizza ou des pâtes de l’établissement The Grand Pizzeria and Bar en regardant les gens passer. Par ailleurs, le Luxe Bistro, situé à l’angle de la rue York et de la Place du marché By, ainsi que l’Empire Grill, au coin de la rue Clarence et de l’avenue Parent, sont aussi deux emplacements idéaux pour observer les gens.

Sur les toits : Vous adorerez les vues des toits de Stella Osteria et de Mambo Nuevo Latino sur la rue Clarence qui offrent un aperçu des édifices du Parlement!

AUTRES QUARTIERS

La Rue Elgin est un autre lieu de prédilection pour la vie nocturne et la terrasse de D’Arcy McGee’s ne peut que plaire avec la vue qu’elle offre, entre autres, sur le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada, le Fairmont Château Laurier et le Centre national des Arts. Toujours à propos du Centre national des Arts, son restaurant Le Café donne vue sur le canal Rideau — c’est un lieu idéal pour une soirée d’été! En descendant la rue Elgin, vous trouverez le Lieutenants Pump Pub, Slice & Co., et St. Louis Bar & Grill –tous des endroits détendus pour prendre une pinte de bière avec des amis!

Sur la rue Preston (la Petite Italie d’Ottawa), vous pouvez vous régaler à une autre succursale du Heart & Crown ou au Pub Italia – oui, une brasserie à l’italienne!

Le quartier New Edinburgh propose un immense toit sur l’établissement nommé à propos le New Edinburgh Pub ou bien vous pouvez goûter des bières brassées localement au Clocktower Brew Pub (à noter : les bières sont brassées à la succursale du quartier Glebe, qui propose aussi une terrasse.)

Toujours au chapitre des bistrots-brasseries, vous devriez aussi aller jeter un coup d’œil à l’impressionnant Mill Street Brewpub, situé à l’ouest du centre-ville, à coté du Musée canadien de la guerre, ou faire un tour au merveilleux Brasseurs du temps à Gatineau, au Québec.

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorJetez un coup d’œil dans TripAdvisor pour savoir ce que d’autres voyageurs disent d’Ottawa.