Images - Ottawa

Reserve Hotels & Packages

 
 
 
 
 
 
Getting to Ottawa
Getting Around Ottawa

Ottawa Event Calendar

24APR

PoutineFest

April 24 - 27, 2014
Sparks Street

 

9MAY

Canadian Tulip Festival

May 9 - 19, 2014

 

24MAY

Tamarack Ottawa Race Weekend

May 24 - 25, 2014

 
More Events
 

2014-2015Ottawa Visitor Guide

View our Ottawa Visitor Guide online to plan your stay in Canada’s Capital region.

2014-2015 Ottawa Visitor Guide
 

Ottawa 2017

Remembrance Day in Ottawa November 11, 2013

Remembrance Day in Ottawa

Lest we forget… On November 11, ceremonies of remembrance provide a powerful pause to reflect on the sacrifices of Canadian soldiers. As red poppies canvas the Ottawa region, so will veterans –both aged and young, residents and visitors gather to commemorate Remembrance Day. Special ceremonies are being held at the following sites:

National War Memorial (10:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.)

Every year, the Royal Canadian Legion organizes the National Ceremony of Remembrance at the National War Memorial in downtown Ottawa. Highlights include the veterans themselves on parade, the attendance of the Prime Minister, the Governor General of Canada, and the Silver Cross Mother – a woman whose child has died while serving in the military. There is also a wreath laying ceremony, a moving children’s choir performance and a rousing fly-past (weather permitting). Arrive early to secure a good vantage point. www.legion.ca/honour-remember/the-national-ceremony

Canadian War Museum (10:40 a.m.)

The Canadian War Museum, situated west of downtown, is a living memorial to Canada’s proud military history. On November 11, Memorial Hall, located inside the Museum’s main entrance, becomes the centerpiece. Here, at exactly 11:00 a.m. a beam of sunlight shines through a single window into Memorial Hall to perfectly frame the headstone from the grave of Canada’s Unknown Soldier. To observe the beam of light at 11:00 a.m. from within Memorial Hall, tickets are available on a first-come, first-served basis as of 9:30 a.m. Museum admission is free on Remembrance Day. There is also a program called Operation Veteran which ensures that veterans eat for free at the Canadian War Museum every day the Museum is open. Every year, the program also invites students from across Canada to attend the Remembrance Day wreath-laying ceremony at the National War Memorial and a special tour of the War Museum, where students have the opportunity to talk to veterans. www.warmuseum.ca/remember

Beechwood Cemetery (10:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.)

East of Ottawa, a ceremony of Remembrance takes place at the National Military Cemetery on the grounds of Beechwood Cemetery. The ceremony honours all those who have fallen in the service of Canada and all Canadian Forces members interred at the cemetery. There is also a marching contingent including veterans, a band and a children’s choir performance. www.beechwoodcemetery.com

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorCheck out what other travelers say about Ottawa on TripAdvisor.

Images - Ottawa

Réservez Hôtels et Forfaits

 
 
 
 
 
 
Se rendre ici
Se déplacer en ville

calendrier d'événements

24AVR

PoutineFest

Du 24 au 27 avril 2014
Mail de la rue Sparks

 

9MAI

Festival canadien des tulips

Du 9 au 19 mai 2014

 

24MAI

 
Plus d’ événements
 

2014-2015Guide touristique d’Ottawa

Consultez en ligne notre Guide touristique d’Ottawa de 2014-2015 pour planifier votre séjour dans la région de la capitale du Canada.

Guide touristique d’Ottawa de 2013-2014
 

Le jour du Souvenir à Ottawa le 11 novembre 2013

Le jour du Souvenir à Ottawa

Ne l’oublions pas… Le 11 novembre, les cérémonies du jour du Souvenir constituent un moment puissant de réflexion sur les sacrifices des soldats canadiens. Alors que des coquelicots rouges parcourront la région d’Ottawa, il y aura aussi des vétérans – jeunes ou âgés, des résidents et des visiteurs qui se rassembleront pour commémorer le jour du Souvenir. Des cérémonies spéciales auront lieu aux endroits suivants :

Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada (de 10 h 30 à midi)

Tous les ans, la Légion royale canadienne organise la cérémonie nationale du jour du Souvenir au Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada, au centre-ville d’Ottawa. Parmi les faits saillants de la cérémonie figurent les vétérans qui font partie de la parade, la présence du premier ministre, la présence du gouverneur général du Canada et celle de la Mère nationale de la Croix d’argent – une femme dont l’enfant est décédé pendant qu’il était au service de l’armée. Il y a aussi une cérémonie de dépôt de couronnes, le spectacle touchant d’un chœur d’enfants et un défilé aérien (si les conditions météorologiques le permettent). Arrivez tôt pour avoir un bon site d’observation. www.legion.ca/honour-remember/the-national-ceremony

Musée canadien de la guerre (de 10 h 40)

Le Musée canadien de la guerre, qui se trouve à l’ouest du centre-ville, est un monument en l’honneur de la fière histoire militaire du Canada. Le 11 novembre, la salle du Souvenir, qui se trouve à l’intérieur de l’entrée principale du Musée, devient le point central. À cet endroit-là, un rayon de lumière traverse à 11 h exactement une fenêtre du Musée commémoratif et encadre la stèle du Soldat canadien inconnu. Afin de permettre d’observer ce rayon de lumière à 11 h à l’intérieur de la salle du Souvenir, des billets gratuits sont disponible à partir de 9 h 30, selon la formule du premier arrivé, premier servi. Autres événements spéciaux incluent des spectacles de chorale tout au long de la journée dans la galerie LeBreton, des activités pratiques à travers le musée et plus. L’entrée au Musée est gratuite le jour du Souvenir.

Il existe aussi un programme, appelé Opération anciens combattants, qui assure aux vétérans de manger gratuitement au Musée canadien de la guerre chaque jour d’ouverture du Musée. De plus, ce programme invite tous les ans des étudiants de tout le Canada à assister à la cérémonie de dépôt des couronnes, le jour du Souvenir, au Musée commémoratif de guerre du Canada et à faire une visite spéciale du Musée de la guerre, pendant laquelle les étudiants ont la possibilité de parler aux vétérans. www.museedelaguerre.ca/souvenir

Cimetière Beechwood (de 10 h 30 à midi)

Dans l’est d’Ottawa, une cérémonie du souvenir se déroule au Cimetière national militaire, sur le terrain du Cimetière Beechwood. La cérémonie rend hommage à toutes les personnes qui ont perdu la vie au service du Canada et à tous les membres des Forces canadiennes qui sont enterrés à ce cimetière. Sur les lieux, il y a également une marche d’un contingent qui comprend des vétérans, un orchestre ainsi qu’un chœur d’enfants. www.beechwoodcemetery.com

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorJetez un coup d’œil dans TripAdvisor pour savoir ce que d’autres voyageurs disent d’Ottawa.