Images - Ottawa

Reserve Hotels & Packages

 
 
 
 
 
 
Getting to Ottawa
Getting Around Ottawa

Ottawa Event Calendar

27SEP

Haunting Season

September 27 – November 2, 2014

 

7NOV

Ottawa Wine and Food Festival

November 7 - 9, 2014

 

11NOV

Remembrance Day

November 11, 2014

 
More Events
 

Ottawa 2017

Ottawa Landmarks

Looking for those quintessential shots of Ottawa? Peruse the 85 free images available on our Image Gallery (no password required, simply click on the icon on the right of this page), or plan your visit to Ottawa to take your own.
Use this as a guide.

Parliament Buildings

On Wellington Street, overlooking the Ottawa River. Walking distance from everywhere downtown.

NOTE: Photographs are permitted outdoors with no problems (as long as you're not zooming into an office window!). If you want to take professional photographs of the interior, though, you'll have to make arrangements with the federal government, which is usually very complicated and can take some time. Please contact Ottawa Tourism's Communications Department for assistance.

Interesting angles:

  • Looking UP the Peace Tower from the base.
  • The Centennial Flame (lit in 1967 to commemorate our country's centennial).
  • Great view of the Ottawa River from behind the buildings.
  • The Library of Parliament at the back of the building is gorgeous—having just undergone restoration. It is the only original part of the building to survive a 1916 fire.
  • Statues of Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Queen Victoria, Queen Elizabeth II, the Famous Five and others are on the Hill grounds.
  • There's a “Cat Man of Parliament Hill” who looks after a couple dozen feral cats that call the escarpment home. He's built a little shelter for them and feeds them from his pension and donations from wellwishers.

24 Sussex Drive

Not really walking distance from downtown, but a very short drive. Across the street from Rideau Hall (below). On-street parking in the surrounding neighbourhood.

The Prime Minister's home is NOT open to the public. You might be able to take a quick shot of the exterior but we don't recommend spending too much time there—there are always Mounties on the lookout!

Rideau Hall

Home to the Governor General, the Queen's representative in Canada. Across the street from 24 Sussex. On-street parking in the surrounding neighbourhood.

Interesting angles:

  • 79 acres of well-manicured lawns, open from 8:00 a.m. to one hour before sunset (may close for special functions).
  • The rose garden is lovely; there's an inukshuk (Arctic wayfinding sculpture of stones) on the grounds and there are dozens of trees planted by visiting dignitaries. Each tree has a little plaque explaining who planted it and when. There's one from John F. Kennedy, Nelson Mandela, Princess Diana, etc.
  • On summer weekends, there's a group that plays cricket. Very picturesque.

ByWard Market

The neighbourhood is bordered by Sussex Drive on the west, George Street on the south, Cumberland Street on the east and St. Patrick Street to the north. It is walking distance from all downtown hotels. If you drive, parking is on-street or in lots or garages.

The most vibrant neighbourhood in Ottawa. You can concentrate on the farmers' market, or the nightlife, or the restaurants, or the buskers, or the horse-drawn carriages, or the rickshaws, or the shopping…

Interesting angles:

  • The ByWard Market Building at 55 ByWard Market Square has a variety of restaurants, shops and artisans.
  • Outdoor vendors are concentrated on ByWard Market Square (mainly fruits and vegetables); George Street (mainly plants and flowers); and William Street and York Street (arts and crafts).
  • At the corner of George Street and William Street is the BeaverTails stand. BeaverTails are a hot pastry treat that was born in Ottawa in the ByWard Market. They're also great while skating on the Rideau Canal in the winter.
  • Great busking (street performing) locations include the William Street Mall (a pedestrian-only block between George and Rideau Streets), the corner of George and ByWard, the middle of York Street at ByWard, etc. In fall, winter and spring, the best times to see them is on the weekends.
  • Lots of outdoor patios.
  • Don't miss the historic courtyards behind the shops of Sussex Drive. The prettiest ones are between George and York Streets and between Clarence and Murray Streets. Both of these have great public art, and there's a cute dancing polar bear sculpture (donated by the late ABC News anchor and former Ottawan Peter Jennings and his sister Sarah, a local property developer) in the courtyard between York and Clarence Streets.

Canadian Museum of History (formerly the Canadian Museum of Civilization)

Walking distance from the ByWard Market neighbourhood on a good-weather day. If driving, take Sussex Drive from downtown. Stay in the left lane and take the Alexandra Bridge (also known as the Interprovincial Bridge) to Gatineau (formerly Hull), Québec. As you come over the bridge, you'll make a left at the lights, then a left at the Museum entrance. Underground paid parking.

Canada's most-visited museum, designed by architect Douglas Cardinal, with great views of Parliament Hill, downtown Ottawa, the first 8 locks of the Rideau Canal and the Ottawa River.

Interesting angles:

  • The curves of the museum itself. There are many visible fossils in the stone used in its construction.
  • The Ottawa River and the view of Ottawa.
  • Bike paths that run alongside the Ottawa River.
  • Inside: largest indoor collection of totem poles in the world; First People's Hall; Canadian Children's Museum; Canada Hall retelling 1000 years of Canadian history from the west to the east to the north; new Canadian Personalities Hall.

National Gallery of Canada

The Gallery is located off Sussex Drive, just past the turnoff to the Alexandra Bridge. Walking distance, but they also have underground paid parking.

Designed by Moshe Safdie, a delight in glass and concrete. Outdoor photos are no problem. For interior shots, there are strict rules about what works of art can be photographed and which can't. Contact Ottawa Tourism for more details.

Interesting angles:

  • Outdoors, the view from Nepean Point located just behind the Gallery is incredible, especially at sunset (overlooking Major's Hill Park, Fairmont Château Laurier, entrance to Rideau Canal, Parliament Hill, Ottawa River, Canadian Museum of History (formerly the Canadian Museum of Civilization) and has a statue of French explorer Samuel de Champlain).
  • Louise Bourgeois' sculpture Maman is a huge hit—a mammoth 9.25-metre bronze spider (complete with 26 marble eggs) located in the plaza.
  • The building itself is worth several shots.
  • Inside, the Great Hall is impressive, as is the reconstituted historic Rideau Chapel; the water gallery, etc.

Canadian War Museum

A longish walk west of downtown, along the Ottawa River. On-site parking is available.

The newest federal museum (opened May 2005) is architecturally very interesting—floors and walls are on slight angles, leading to a feeling of discomfort. The headstone of the Unknown Soldier (from World War I) is mounted in the Hall of Remembrance, at the average height of a World War I soldier; a skylight lets in sunlight on November 11 at 11:00 a.m. to exactly frame the stone. Copper from the roof of the Library of Parliament (replaced during the recent restoration) is mounted on some of the walls inside.

Interesting angles:

  • Outside, check out the roof of the museum (you can walk across it). You'll see that most of it is grass, very environmentally friendly. There's also a great view of the Peace Tower.
  • Nice shots along the Ottawa River, recreational pathways, etc.

Rideau Canal

The Rideau Canal snakes downtown from the Ottawa River to Dows Lake and beyond. Walking distance from everywhere downtown. There's no real designated parking for the Canal (except at Dows Lake), just on-street or downtown lots.

Interesting angles:

  • From the Mackenzie King Bridge behind the Rideau Centre shopping mall looking north you'll see the Canal, with boats on it and the National Arts Centre / Parliament Hill in the background.
  • At the Ottawa River, you'll see the first 8 locks, the Bytown Museum (with exhibits on the building of the Canal), a Celtic cross commemorating the (mostly Irish) workers who lost their lives building the Canal, and a brand new plaque commemorating its recent selection as Ontario's first (and Canada's 14th) UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • There's a statue of the builder of the Rideau Canal, Lt. Colonel John By, overlooking the locks, in nearby Major's Hill Park.

Major's Hill Park

Behind the Fairmont Château Laurier, along Mackenzie Avenue. Easily accessible on foot.

This park is a major site for the Canadian Tulip Festival each May, Canada Day on July 1 and sometimes for Winterlude (first three weekends in February) as well. Beautiful views.

Interesting angles:

  • Look west at Parliament Hill, the Library of Parliament, down to the Rideau Canal, along the Ottawa River, over to the Canadian Museum of History (formerly the Canadian Museum of Civilization) / Gatineau Hills, or across the street to the National Gallery of Canada, Notre Dame Basilica, U.S. Embassy and more!
  • See the foundations of the house of Colonel By (builder of the Rideau Canal) in the park, as well as his statue overlooking the locks.

Dows Lake

Where Queen Elizabeth Drive meets Preston Street (Ottawa's Little Italy). A great place to cycle to, there's also a parking lot across the street from the Dows Lake Pavilion.

Interesting angles:

  • From the on-site restaurants, you can get nice shots of the lake.
  • Just west of the site is the Arboretum (with many different types of trees) and the Canada Agriculture and Food Museum (a working dairy farm, with plenty of other farm animals on display, popular with kids).

Recreational Pathways

Ottawa is a big cycling city and there are recreational paths everywhere: both sides of the Rideau Canal, both sides of the Ottawa River in both directions from downtown, along the Rideau River, etc., etc.

Interesting angles:

  • A good location is the Ottawa River Parkway which runs west of downtown along the Ottawa River. There are parking lots along the way for people to use. Check out the rock sculptures created by John Ceprano every year (he just piles them on top of one another and they wash away over the winter). Very cool.

Supreme Court

Just west of Parliament Hill, walking distance.

A unique Art Deco-style symmetrical building with a great lawn in front that is often used by Ultimate frisbee or soccer players or people playing catch.

Bank Street & the Glebe

Runs south from Wellington Street for several miles. On-street parking.

The most photogenic part of Bank Street is in the neighbourhood known as the Glebe, south of the Queensway (Highway 417) to the Bank Street Bridge over the Rideau Canal. Known for its coffee shops, eclectic shopping and diverse neighbours.

Interesting angles:

  • Leafy boulevards off Bank Street in the residential neighbourhood. Quirky pubs / cafés / shops along Bank Street.
  • The Aberdeen Pavilion (known as the Cattle Castle because it's used for agricultural exhibits during the Central Canada Exhibition in late August) is a beautiful building at Lansdowne Park, which is also home to a former football stadium and hockey arena.
  • The Ottawa Farmers' Market runs Sundays from May through October.

Sparks Street Village

One block south of the Parliament Buildings.

Sparks Street Village (Ottawa's linear "Town Square" and Open Air Mall) is Canada's first pedestrian mall. The best time to take photos is during weekday lunch breaks, given the number of downtown workers that flock there.

Interesting angles:

  • At the east end, you can see the National War Memorial and Tomb of the Unknown Soldier just across Elgin Street.
  • There's a great Irish pub there, too: D'Arcy McGee's, named after a Father of Confederation who was Canada's first (of only two) political assassination (he was shot outside his Sparks Street rooming house in 1868).
  • Nice architectural features along the street.

Hog's Back

Along the Rideau Canal, where it meets the Rideau River just past Carleton University.

A lot of water flows quickly over impressive rocks. Park at Vincent Massey Park or Mooney's Bay Beach and walk over.

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorCheck out what other travelers say about Ottawa on TripAdvisor.

Images - Ottawa

Réservez Hôtels et Forfaits

 
 
 
 
 
 
Se rendre ici
Se déplacer en ville

Calendrier d'événements

3déc.

Les Lumières de Noël du Canada

Du 3 décembre 2014 au 7 janvier 2015

 

5déc.

Festival Village en Lumières

Le 5 décembre 2014 au 3 janvier 2015
Upper Canada Village

 

29déc.

Coupe capitale Bell

Le 29 décembre 2014 au 2 janvier 2015

 
Plus d’ événements
 

Ottawa 2017

Points d’intérêt à Ottawa

Cherchez-vous des photos typiques d’Ottawa? Parcourez les 85 photographies gratuites de notre Banque d’images (pas besoin de mot de passe, il vous suffit de cliquer sur l’icône à gauche sur la présente page pour y accéder) ou venez prendre vos propres photos d’Ottawa.. Le présent document vous servira de

Les édifices du Parlement

Situés sur la rue Wellington, ces édifices surplombent la rivière des Outaouais. On peut s’y rendre à pied de n’importe où au centre-ville.

REMARQUE : On peut prendre sans problème des photos de l’extérieur (dans la mesure où l’on ne fait pas de zoom sur une fenêtre de bureau!). Mais, si vous voulez prendre des photos professionnelles de l’intérieur, vous devrez prendre des dispositions avec le gouvernement fédéral, ce qui est généralement long et très compliqué. Veuillez communiquer avec le Service des communications de Tourisme Ottawa pour obtenir de l’aide.

Angles intéressants :

  • La Tour de la Paix, vue du pied de la Tour en regardant vers le haut.
  • La Flamme du centenaire (allumée en 1967 pour commémorer le centenaire du Canada).
  • La belle vue de la rivière des Outaouais, à l’arrière des édifices.
  • La Bibliothèque du Parlement, partie arrière de l’édifice du Centre, est superbe – elle vient d’être restaurée. C’est la seule partie de l’édifice qui a échappé à l’incendie de 1916.
  • Des statues de Sir Wilfrid Laurier, de la reine Victoria, de la reine Elizabeth II, des Cinq femmes célèbres et d’autres personnalités se trouvent sur la colline.
  • Sur la colline du Parlement, un « Homme aux chats » s’occupe de quelques dizaines de chats devenus sauvages qui vivent dans l’escarpement. Il leur a construit un petit abri et les nourrit avec de l’argent de sa retraite et les dons des visiteurs.

Le 24, promenade Sussex

On ne peut pas réellement s’y rendre à pied à partir du centre-ville, mais un très court trajet en voiture vous y mène. En face de Rideau Hall (ci-dessous). Stationnement le long des trottoirs dans le quartier avoisinant.

La demeure du premier ministre n’est PAS ouverte au public. Vous pouvez prendre rapidement une photo de l’extérieur, mais nous vous recommandons de ne pas vous attarder sur les lieux – car ils sont toujours surveillés par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada!

Rideau Hall

La demeure du gouverneur général, le représentant de la reine au Canada. En face du 24, promenade Sussex. Stationnement le long des trottoirs dans le quartier avoisinant.

Angles intéressants :

  • 79 acres de pelouse impeccable, ouverts de 8 h jusqu’à une heure avant le coucher du soleil (ils peuvent être fermés pour des réceptions spéciales).
  • La roseraie est jolie; sur le terrain se trouvent un inukshuk (entassement de pierres, servant de repère dans les régions arctiques) et des dizaines d’arbres qui ont été plantés par des dignitaires lors de leurs visites. Chaque arbre porte une petite plaque qui indique quand et par qui il a été planté. L’un d’eux a été planté par John F. Kennedy, un autre par Nelson Mandela, un autre par la princesse Diana, etc.
  • L’été, un groupe joue au cricket pendant les fins de semaine. C’est très pittoresque.

Le marché By

Ce quartier est entouré par la promenade Sussex à l’Ouest, la rue George au Sud, la rue Cumberland à l’Est et la rue St. Patrick au Nord. On peut s’y rendre facilement à pied de tous les hôtels du centre-ville. Si vous y allez en voiture, vous pouvez la stationner le long d’un trottoir ou dans un parc de stationnement extérieur ou intérieur.

C’est le quartier le plus animé d’Ottawa, où le marché fermier, la vie nocturne, les restaurants, les amuseurs de rue, les calèches, les pousse-pousse, le magasinage, etc., attirent les visiteurs.

Angles intéressants :

  • Le bâtiment du marché By, au 55, place du marché By, abrite divers restaurants, boutiques et
  • Les étals des marchands sont regroupés en plein air sur la place du marché By (où l’on trouve surtout des fruits et des légumes), la rue George (où l’on trouve surtout des plantes et des fleurs) et les rues William et York (où l’on trouve surtout des articles d’artisanat).
  • À l’angle des rues George et William se trouve le kiosque de queues de castor. La queue de castor est une pâtisserie originaire du marché By à Ottawa, que l’on mange chaude. C’est aussi un régal en patinant l’hiver sur le canal Rideau.
  • Les amuseurs de rue sont au mail de la rue William (un lieu réservé aux piétons qui est situé entre les rues George et Rideau), au coin du marché By et de la rue George, au milieu de la rue York au marché By, etc. Le meilleur moment pour les voir est pendant les fins de semaine en automne, en hiver et au printemps.
  • Les nombreuses terrasses.
  • Ne manquez pas les nombreuses cours qui se trouvent derrière les boutiques de la promenade Sussex. Les plus belles se trouvent entre les rues George et York et les rues Clarence et Murray. Ces cours sont agrémentées d’art civique et, dans la cour située entre les rues York et Clarence, on peut voir la sculpture d’un ours polaire dansant (don du regretté Ottavien Peter Jennings, pilote d’émissions d’actualités d’ABC, et de sa sœur Sarah, promotrice immobilière locale).

Le Musée canadien de l’histoire (anciennement nommé le Musée canadien des civilisations)

Par beau temps, on peut se rendre à pied à ce musée à partir du quartier du marché By. Si vous y allez en voiture, prenez la promenade Sussex à partir du centre-ville. Placez-vous sur la voie de gauche pour franchir le pont Alexandra (aussi connu sous le nom de pont Interprovincial) qui mène à Gatineau (anciennement appelée Hull), au Québec. En sortant du pont, tournez à gauche aux feux de circulation, puis à gauche pour entrer dans la voie d’accès au musée. Le parc de stationnement souterrain est payant.

Ce musée, conçu par l’architecte Douglas Cardinal et le plus visité au Canada, offre une vue imprenable de la colline du Parlement, du centre-ville d’Ottawa, des 8 premières écluses du canal Rideau et de la rivières des Outaouais.

Angles intéressants :

  • Les courbes du musée lui-même. On peut voir des fossiles dans la pierre utilisée comme revêtement extérieur.
  • La rivière des Outaouais et la vue d’Ottawa.
  • Les pistes cyclables qui longent la rivière des Outaouais.
  • À l’intérieur du musée : la collection de mâts totémiques exposée à l’intérieur la plus vaste du monde, la salle des Premiers Peuples, le Musée canadien des enfants, la salle du Canada, qui raconte 1 000 ans d’histoire canadienne, d’Est en Ouest et au Nord, et la nouvelle salle des personnalités canadiennes.

Le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada

Ce musée est situé sur la promenade Sussex, juste après la voie de sortie vers le pont Alexandra. On peut s’y rendre à pied, mais il est aussi doté d’un parc de stationnement souterrain payant.

Conçu par Moshe Safdie, c’est une merveille de verre et de béton. On peut prendre sans problème des photos de l’extérieur du musée, mais des règles strictes déterminent les œuvres d’art qui peuvent être photographiées et celles qui ne peuvent pas l’être. Communiquez avec Tourisme Ottawa pour obtenir de plus amples détails.

Angles intéressants :

  • À l’extérieur, la pointe Nepean située à l’arrière du musée offre une vue splendide, surtout au coucher du soleil, qui donne sur le parc Major’s Hill, le Fairmont Château Laurier, le canal Rideau, la colline du Parlement, la rivière des Outaouais, le Musée canadien de l’histoire (anciennement nommé le Musée canadien des civilisations) et une statue de l’explorateur français Samuel de Champlain.
  • La sculpture Maman de Louise Bourgeois – une araignée géante de 9,25 mètres de haut (avec ses 26 œufs de marbre), située sur l’esplanade – remporte un énorme succès.
  • L’édifice lui-même mérite plusieurs photos.
  • À l’intérieur, le Grand hall est spectaculaire, tout comme la Chapelle Rideau reconstituée, la galerie de l’eau, etc.

Le Musée canadien de la guerre

On peut s’y rendre à pied à partir du centre-ville, en faisant une longue marche vers l’Ouest, le long de la rivière des Outaouais. Le musée dispose d’un parc de stationnement.

Ce musée, le plus nouveau des musées fédéraux (il a ouvert en mai 2005), a une architecture intéressante – les planchers sont légèrement en pente et les murs un peu inclinés, ce qui crée une impression d’instabilité. Dans la salle du Souvenir, la pierre tombale du Soldat inconnu (de la Première guerre mondiale) a été placée à la hauteur de la taille moyenne d’un soldat de la Première guerre mondiale; tous les 11 novembre à 11 h, le rayon de lumière du jour qui traverse une petite fenêtre encadre exactement cette pierre tombale. Des pièces de cuivre en provenance du toit de la Bibliothèque du Parlement ornent certains murs à l’intérieur du musée.

Angles intéressants :

  • À l’extérieur, jetez un coup d’œil au toit du musée (vous pouvez le parcourir à pied). Vous verrez qu’il est principalement couvert de graminées, un élément très écologique. Vous aurez
  • Il y a également de belles photos à prendre le long de la rivière des Outaouais, des sentiers récréatifs, etc.

Le canal Rideau

Le canal Rideau serpente le centre-ville, de la rivière des Outaouais au lac Dow, et continue au-delà. On peut s’y rendre à pied de partout au centre-ville. Il n’existe pas de parc de stationnement déterminé pour les visiteurs au bord du canal (sauf au lac Dow); on peut stationner son véhicule le long d’un trottoir ou dans un des parcs de stationnement du centre-ville.

Angles intéressants :

  • Sur le pont Mackenzie-King, derrière le centre commercial Centre Rideau, vous verrez le canal avec des bateaux et, à l’arrière-plan, le Centre national des arts et la colline du Parlement.
  • À la rivière des Outaouais, vous verrez les 8 premières écluses, le Musée Bytown (qui présente des expositions sur la construction du canal), une croix celtique qui commémore les travailleurs (surtout irlandais) qui ont perdu la vie en construisant le canal, et une toute nouvelle plaque indiquant que le canal Rideau est devenu récemment le premier lieu en Ontario (et le 14e au Canada) qui a reçu le titre de site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.
  • À proximité, au parc Major’s Hill, se trouve une statue du concepteur du canal Rideau, le lieutenant-colonel John By, surplombant les écluses.

Le parc Major’s Hill

On peut se rendre facilement à pied à ce parc situé à l’arrière du Fairmont Château Laurier, le long de l’avenue Mackenzie.

C’est l’un des principaux sites du Festival canadien des tulipes en mai, de la fête du Canada le 1er juillet et, parfois, de Bal de Neige (pendant les trois premières fins de semaine de février). Il offre une vue magnifique.

Angles intéressants :

  • En regardant vers l’Ouest, vous verrez la colline du Parlement et la Bibliothèque du Parlement, plus bas, le canal Rideau et la rivière des Outaouais, au-dessus, le Musée canadien de l’histoire (anciennement nommé le Musée canadien des civilisations) et les collines de la Gatineau ou, en face du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, la Basilique Notre-Dame, l’Ambassade des États-Unis et davantage!
  • Dans le parc se trouvent les fondations de la demeure du colonel By (concepteur du canal Rideau) et une statue de cet homme surplombant les écluses.

Le lac Dow

Ce lac est situé à l’intersection de la promenade Reine-Élizabeth et de la rue Preston (la Petite Italie d’Ottawa). C’est un endroit formidable pour faire de la bicyclette et il y a un parc de stationnement en face du Pavillon du lac Dow.

Angles intéressants :

  • Dans les restaurants sur les lieux, vous pouvez prendre de belles photos du lac.
  • À l’ouest de ce site se trouvent l’Arboretum (qui regroupe de nombreux types d’arbres différents) et le Musée de l'agriculture et de l'alimentation du Canada (une ferme laitière en activité, qui réunit de nombreux autres animaux d’élevage et plaît beaucoup aux enfants).

Les sentiers récréatifs

Ottawa est une ville où le vélo a la faveur du public et qui offre des sentiers récréatifs partout : sur les deux rives du canal Rideau, sur les deux rives de la rivière des Outaouais, dans les deux sens à partir du centre-ville, le long de la rivière Rideau, etc.

Angles intéressants :

  • Un bon endroit est la promenade de l’Outaouais, à l’ouest du centre-ville, le long de la rivière des Outaouais. Il y a des parcs de stationnement le long de la promenade. Jetez un coup d’œil aux arrangements de pierres que John Ceprano compose tous les ans (il les empile les unes par dessus les autres et elles sont emportées par l’eau pendant l’hiver). Génial.

La Cour suprême

On peut se rendre à pied à la Cour suprême, à l’ouest de la colline du Parlement.
Cet édifice symétrique de style art déco est doté, à l’avant, d’une belle pelouse où les gens jouent souvent au disque volant d’équipe, au soccer ou à la volée.

La rue Bank et le Glebe

C’est une rue de plusieurs kilomètres qui s’étend au sud de la rue Wellington. On peut stationner le long des trottoirs.

Pour des photos, la plus belle partie de la rue Bank est le quartier du Glebe, qui s’étend du sud du Queensway (route 417) au pont du canal Rideau sur la rue Bank. C’est un quartier renommé pour ses cafés-restaurants, le magasinage éclectique que l’on peut y faire et la diversité des gens qui l’habitent.

Angles intéressants :

  • Les boulevards bordés d’arbres, qui partent de la rue Bank et constituent le quartier résidentiel. Les brasseries, cafés et boutiques pittoresques le long de la rue Bank.
  • Le Pavillon Aberdeen (connu sous le nom de Palais bovin, car il sert aux expositions agricoles pendant l’Exposition du Canada Central à la fin août) est un beau pavillon au parc Lansdowne, qui a déjà été un stade de football et une aréna de hockey.
  • Le Marcher fermier d’Ottawa est ouvert tous les dimanches, de mai à octobre.

Sparks Street Village

Il se trouve à un coin de rue au sud de la Colline du Parlement.

Dans ce mail, le premier qui ait été réservé aux piétons au Canada, le meilleur moment pour prendre des photos est à l’heure du repas de midi pendant la semaine, car il attire une foule de travailleurs du centre-ville.

Angles intéressants :

  • À l’extrémité Est, on peut voir le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada et la Tombe du soldat inconnu de l’autre côté de la rue Elgin.
  • Le mail abrite aussi un pub irlandais formidable, le D’Arcy McGee’s, dont le nom est celui d’un Père de la Confédération, la première personne assassinée au Canada pour des raisons politiques (il n’y en a eu que deux), qui a été abattu en 1868 en franchissant le seuil de la maison de chambres qu’il habitait sur la rue Sparks.
  • La rue offre aussi de beaux détails architecturaux.

Hog’s Back

Au point de confluence du canal Rideau et de la rivière Rideau, juste après l’Université Carleton.

Une quantité énorme d’eau s’écoule rapidement sur des roches impressionnantes. Stationnez votre véhicule au parc Vincent Massey ou devant la plage de la baie Mooney et allez-y à pied.

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorJetez un coup d’œil dans TripAdvisor pour savoir ce que d’autres voyageurs disent d’Ottawa.