Images - Ottawa

Reserve Hotels & Packages

 
 
 
 
 
 
Getting to Ottawa
Getting Around Ottawa

Ottawa Event Calendar

17SEPT

Ottawa International Animation Festival

September 17 - 21, 2014

 

25SEPT

RIBtoberfest

September 25 - 28, 2014
Sparks Street Village

 

15OCT

Rendez-vous des Saveurs de l'Outaouais

October 15 - 19, 2014
Casino du Lac-Leamy

 
More Events
 

Ottawa 2017

Frosty fun in Ottawa No end of winter delights to experience

Frosty fun in Ottawa

Winterlude is the crown jewel of winter activities in Ottawa—it’s celebrating its 36th edition this year, after all—but there are plenty of other fun activities throughout the season.

  • Winterlude runs January 31 through February 17 and most activities are concentrated on the weekend. Visit Confederation Park (aka the Crystal Garden) in downtown Ottawa for the magnificent ice sculptures and some fun evening DJ events. Gatineau’s Jacques Cartier Park (aka Snowflake Kingdom) is a big hit with families (and the young at heart): enjoy snow and ice slides, kids’ entertainment and an introduction to winter sports. Each weekend brings new programming, from bed races to pond hockey to a winter triathlon (ice skating, cross-country skiing, running).
  • Skating along Ottawa’s Rideau Canal Skateway is on many people’s “bucket lists”—not much can compare with sliding along its world-record 7.8km (4.8-mile) surface. The ice must be at least 30cm (1 foot) thick to open and conditions are explained with a colour-coded system (green is best). Check conditions online or follow @NCC_Skateway for info
  • NEW! The folks at Ottawa Rickshaws offer 15-, 30- and 60-minute guided sled tours of the Skateway for those who can’t (or who choose not to) skate!
  • The Rink of Dreams, located just outside Ottawa City Hall, provides a free ice skating experience that is not dependent on the weather, as the surface is refrigerated.
  • The historic (established in 1872) skating rink at Rideau Hall, the home and workplace of Canada’s Governor General, offers free public skating each Saturday and Sunday between January 6 and March 9, weather permitting.
  • Gatineau Park and the Greenbelt surrounding Ottawa offer great cross-country skiing and snowshoeing trails. There are downhill skiing options in Gatineau Park as well. These are great ways to get out and explore the natural beauty of the area.
  • The Canadian National Figure Skating Championships take place in Ottawa January 9-15, 2014, 100 years after the very first national competition of men’s, women’s, pairs and ice dance events. The event serves as a qualifier for the 2014 Olympic Games.
  • NEW! The Ottawa Gatineau Hotel Association hosts Dine Wine Wintertime, a fundraising wine and food event on January 30, the night before Winterlude begins. Tasty treats from hotel chefs are complemented by wines from around the world.
  • Interested in winter but afraid of the cold? Visit the Snow exhibit at the Canadian Museum of Civilization (soon to be renamed the Canadian Museum of History) to learn about how snow has shaped Canada—and Canadians—in this fun, interactive exhibit. You’ll stay warm doing it! The exhibit runs through September 28, 2014.

 

Next Story »

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorCheck out what other travelers say about Ottawa on TripAdvisor.

Images - Ottawa

Réservez Hôtels et Forfaits

 
 
 
 
 
 
Se rendre ici
Se déplacer en ville

Calendrier d'événements

28nov.

Nature Nocturne : Un sur un milliard

Le 28 novembre 2014
Musée canadien de la nature

 

3déc.

Alberta Ballet : Casse-Noisette

Du 3 au 7 décembre 2014
Centre national des arts

 

3déc.

Les Lumières de Noël du Canada

Du 3 décembre 2014 au 7 janvier 2015

 
Plus d’ événements
 

Ottawa 2017

Plaisirs d’hiver à Ottawa La saison froide est une saison occupée

Frosty fun in Ottawa

Bal de Neige est au cœur des activités hivernales à Ottawa – la 36e édition du festival a lieu cette année – mais ce n’est qu’un exemple parmi une foule d’activités plaisantes à faire à Ottawa.

  • Bal de Neige se déroule du 31 janvier au 17 février, et la plupart des activités ont lieu la fin de semaine. Visitez le parc de la Confédération (aussi connu sous le nom de Reflets de glace) au centre-ville d’Ottawa. On y trouve de magnifiques sculptures de glace et, certains soirs, des événements DJ. À Gatineau le parc Jacques-Cartier (Le Domaine des flocons) attire les familles et les jeunes d’esprit. On y trouve des glissoires, des spectacles pour enfants, et une introduction aux sports d’hiver. Une course de lits, du hockey, et un triathlon d’hiver avec patinage, course et ski de fond – la programmation change régulièrement.
  • Patiner le long de la patinoire du canal Rideau demeure, pour plusieurs, une activité hivernale incontournable à Ottawa. Quelle joie que de parcourir cette patinoire longue de 7,8 km (4,8 milles), la plus large au monde! Pour que la patinoire soit ouverte au public, la glace doit avoir au moins 30 cm (1 pied) d’épaisseur, et on affiche la condition de glace avec des signaux colorés (le vert indique des conditions optimales). Vérifiez la condition de glace en ligne, ou suivez @CCN_Patinoire.
  • DU NOUVEAU! La compagnie Ottawa Rickshaws offre des balades en traîneau sur la patinoire pour ceux et celles qui ne patinent pas (ou ne veulent pas patiner). Les visites durent 15, 30 ou 60 minutes.
  • La Patinoire des rêves, située à l’hôtel de ville, offre une surface de glace réfrigérée et donc moins sujette aux aléas de Dame nature. L’accès y est gratuit.
  • La patinoire historique à Rideau Hall, la résidence et lieu de travail du gouverneur général du Canada, existe depuis 1872. Le public y a accès sans frais les samedis et dimanches du 6 janvier au 9 mars, si le temps le permet.
  • On trouve dans le parc de la Gatineau et la Ceinture de verdure qui entoure Ottawa de magnifiques sentiers de ski de fond et de raquette. On peut également faire du ski alpin dans le parc. Voilà d’excellentes activités en plein-air qui permettent de découvrir la beauté naturelle de la région!
  • Les Championnats canadiens de patinage artistique ont lieu à Ottawa du 9 au 15 janvier 2014, 100 ans après la première compétition nationale sur glace. L’événement servira de dernière étape du processus de qualification pour les Jeux olympiques de 2014.
  • DU NOUVEAU! L’Association des hôtels d’Ottawa Gatineau vient de lancer Dine Wine Wintertime, un événement gastronomique qui est aussi une campagne de financement. L’événement aura lieu le 30 janvier, la veille du début de Bal de Neige. Des vins du monde entier accompagneront des bouchées préparées par les chefs des hôtels de la région.
  • L’hiver vous intéresse, mais le froid un peu moins? Visitez Neige, une exposition au Musée canadien des civilisations (qui changera bientôt de nom, pour devenir le Musée canadien de l’histoire). Venez découvrir (tout en restant au chaud!) une exposition inédite qui propose une histoire culturelle de la neige, cet élément essentiel de l’identité canadienne. L’exposition se poursuit jusqu’au 28 septembre 2014.

 

Prochain article »

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorJetez un coup d’œil dans TripAdvisor pour savoir ce que d’autres voyageurs disent d’Ottawa.