Images - Ottawa
  • tab_fb
  • tab_twt

Ottawa Event Calendar

8JULY

Mosaika: Sound and Light Show

July 8 - Sept 6, 2014

 

10SEPT

Ottawa Folk Festival

Sept 10 - 14, 2014

 

17SEPT

 
More Events
 

Ottawa 2017

Print

The Adventure Itinerary

The Adventure Itinerary

Once you get here, we’ll keep you going! Ottawa, the Rideau Heritage Route and the 1000 Islands offer unparalleled opportunities for outdoor adventure and excitement. Get out and go!

Day 1 - White Knuckling!

The Ottawa River west of Canada’s Capital is home to some of the best whitewater rafting in North America. Fully guided rafting trips with Wilderness Tours, OWL Rafting, and RiverRun Rafting take on both channels of the world famous Rocher Fendu rapids of the Ottawa River, which range from the gentle Class I – II rapids to the adrenaline rush of Class III – V rapids Stay overnight at the on-site resorts or return to Ottawa.

Day 2 - Are You Up For It?

Head just north of Ottawa to Aerial Experiences at Camp Fortune, where suspended walkways, rope bridges and net gangways will get your heart pumping over three exhilarating adventures that finish with a thrilling zip-line ride! Next it’s off to face your fears at the highest bungee jump (200 feet) in North America at the Great Canadian Bungee. Then head west this time, to the Quebec side of the Ottawa River, to Chutes Coulonge on the VIA Ferrata. Via Ferrata, Latin for “iron roads,” is quite literally an iron trail along a prehistoric rock face. But first, you have to get there by zip line and a cable footbridge.

Pedaling & Pampering

Ottawa is the cyclist’s city, with over 170 kilometres of paved recreation pathways. You can cycle past all the famous national sights and landmarks, along the Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, along the Ottawa River and all the way into nearby Gatineau Park. Bring your own bike or rent one here from RentABike, located right downtown. After all that excitement, take a break at Nordik Spa-Nature, North America’s largest Scandinavian style spa.

Day 3 - Paddling Past Parliament

Learn to whitewater kayak in the shadow of Parliament Hill on the Ottawa River with Madawaka Kanu Centre (MKC) in the City. Your lessons start at the historic “Pump House” right in downtown Ottawa.

See the Sights

Spend early afternoon visiting top attractions in Canada’s Capital, including Parliament Hill, the Canadian Museum of History (formerly the Canadian Museum of Civilization), National Gallery of Canada, the Canadian War Museum, and many others. A hop-on-hop-off tour will take you where you need to go.

Go Rideau

Head out along the Rideau Heritage Route, starting with a quick visit to Watson’s Mill, a unique 1860’s grist and flour mill located in Manotick, on the shores of the Rideau River in the city’s south end. Next stop, the historic town of Perth, where you can enjoy dinner and take in a performance at the Classic Theatre Festival. After the Theatre, turn in at one of Perth’s charming accommodations.

Day 4 - Yes You Canoe!

Lace up your boots and go hiking along the Rideau Trail in Murphy’s Point Provincial Park. The park has 5 hiking trails ranging in length from 1 to 5.5 kilometres. Sights include interpretive displays, beaver ponds, Silver Queen Mica Mine, viewscapes of Big Rideau Lake, beaches and mixed forest. Next head to Newboro for a paddling adventure touring along a portion of the Rideau Paddling Routes through Clear and Indian Lakes and onto Chaffey’s Lock, a fantastic lunch spot. After lunch wind south through Davis Lock and then Sand Lake to end your adventure at Jones Falls.

Then travel to Gananoque, the heart of the 1000 Islands for a 2-night stay.

Day 5 - 1000 Islands

Enjoy a cruise on the Gananoque Boat Line or with 1000 Island Cruises Rockport Boatline. You’ll cruise past Boldt Castle, the lavish homes of the rich and famous on Millionaire’s Row and see the old haunts of vagabonds and villains. For a landlubber experience, take a driving tour along the 1000 Island Parkway, where you will pass through the Frontenac Arch, a UNESCO Bioshpere Reserve. Stop at the 1000 Islands Skydeck where you can enjoy a birds eye view of both the Canadian and American spans of the world famous Ivy Lea bridge.

Day 6 - Paddle the River

Spend your last day of adventure kayaking through the 1000 Islands with 1000 Islands Kayaking. Paddle with the wildlife and reconnect with our living landscape, your group and yourself.

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorCheck out what other travelers say about Ottawa on TripAdvisor.

Images - Ottawa
  • tab_fb
  • tab_twt

calendrier d'événements

24AVR

PoutineFest

Du 24 au 27 avril 2014
Mail de la rue Sparks

 

9MAI

Festival canadien des tulips

Du 9 au 19 mai 2014

 

24MAI

 
Plus d’ événements
 

imprimer

Itinéraire d'aventure

Itinéraire d'aventure

Une fois sur place, vous allez en voir de toutes les couleurs! Ottawa, le Circuit patrimonial Rideau et les Mille-Îles offrent des occasions uniques de vivre à l’extérieur des aventures et des émotions intenses. Alors, allez jouer dehors!

Le 1er jour - Une bonne dose d’adrénaline !

La rivière des Outaouais à l’ouest de la capitale du Canada est reconnue comme étant l’un des meilleurs endroits en Amérique du Nord pour le rafting. Les excursions de rafting entièrement guidées avec Wilderness Tours, OWL Rafting et RiverRun Rafting se déroulent sur les deux chenaux des célèbres rapides du Rocher-Fendu de la rivière des Outaouais où se retrouvent les rapides plus calmes de classe I et II jusqu’aux rapides tumultueux de classe III à V. Vous pouvez passer la nuit dans l’un des lieux d’hébergement à proximité ou retourner à Ottawa.

Le 2e jour - Voir les choses de haut – Haut en couleurs – Haut et fort !

Dirigez-vous au nord d’Ottawa au Défi aérien de Camp fortune où des passerelles suspendues, des ponts de cordes et des couloirs de filet vous donneront une poussée d’adrénaline au cours de trois aventures exaltantes qui se termineront par un retour palpitant en tyrolienne! Ensuite, ce sera le moment d’affronter vos peurs avec Great Canadian Bungee qui offre le saut à l’élastique le plus élevé en Amérique du Nord (200 pieds). Puis, vous irez vers l’ouest le long de la rive québécoise de la rivière des Outaouais à la VIA Ferrata sur le site des Chutes Coulonge. La Via Ferrata, mot latin désignant « pont de fer », est littéralement un sentier en fer qui longe une façade rocheuse préhistorique. Mais vous devrez d’abord y parvenir au moyen de la tyrolienne et d’une passerelle de câbles.

Vélo et cajoleries

Ottawa est un paradis pour le vélo avec plus de 170 kilomètres de pistes cyclables pavées. Vous pourrez y admirer tous les célèbres monuments et lieux d’intérêt nationaux le long du canal Rideau, un site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO et le long de la rivière des Outaouais jusqu’au parc de la Gatineau avoisinant. Apportez votre propre vélo ou louez-en un de Vélocation, qui se trouve en plein centre-ville. Après toutes ces émotions, détendez-vous au centre Nordik Spa-Nature, le plus grand spa d’inspiration scandinave en Amérique du Nord.

Le 3e jour - En kayak à l’ombre du Parlement

Apprenez les rudiments du kayak en eau vive à l’ombre de la Colline du Parlement au Madawaka Kanu Centre (MKC) situé en ville. Vos leçons seront données à la station de pompage historique du centre-ville d’Ottawa.

Plein la vue

Passez le début d’après-midi à visiter les attractions majeures de la capitale du Canada, y compris la Colline du Parlement, le Musée canadien de l’histoire (anciennement nommé le Musée canadien des civilisations), le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, le Musée canadien de la guerre et bien d’autres. Un autobus où vous pouvez monter et descendre à volonté vous permettra de visiter ces lieux à votre gré.

Un coin de la Rideau – Rideau de verdure

Empruntez le circuit patrimonial Rideau en commençant par une visite rapide du moulin Watson, un moulin à provende et à farine unique datant de 1860 situé à Manotick sur les berges de la rivière Rideau à l’extrémité sud de la ville. Prochain arrêt : la ville historique de Perth où vous pourrez souper et voir une représentation du Classic Theatre Festival. Et après, vous pourrez passer la nuit dans l’un des sympathiques lieux d’hébergement de Perth.

Le 4e jour - C’est l’aviron qui nous mène

Enfilez vos bottes et faites une randonnée le long du sentier Rideau au parc provincial Murphy’s Point. Le parc propose 5 sentiers de randonnée ayant des longueurs variant de 1 km à 5,5 km. Vous pourrez y observer des panneaux d’interprétation, des étangs de castor, la mine de mica Silver Queen, des vues sur le lac Big Rideau, des plages et des forêts mixtes. Rendez-vous ensuite à Newboro pour découvrir une portion de la voie navigable Rideau à la hauteur des lacs Clear et Indian et des écluses de Chaffey, un endroit idéal pour faire une pause-repas. Ensuite, bifurquez au sud pour traverser les écluses Davis et le lac Sand avant de terminer votre aventure aux chutes Jones.

Rendez-vous par la suite à Gananoque, au coeur des Mille-Îles pour un séjour de 2 nuitées.

Le 5e jour - Les Mille-Îles

Profitez d’une croisière à bord des bateaux de Gananoque Boat Line ou de 1000 Island Cruises Rockport Boatline. Vous passerez devant le château de Boldt, les maisons cossues des gens riches et célèbres le long de l’allée des millionnaires et observerez les anciens repaires des truands et des vagabonds. Et sur la terre ferme, empruntez la route des Mille-Îles où vous traverserez l’arche de Frontenac qui a reçu la désignation de réserve mondiale de la biosphère de l’UNESCO. Faites un arrêt au Skydeck des Mille-Îles où vous aurez une vue aérienne des travées américaines et canadiennes du célèbre pont Ivy Lea.

Le 6e jour - Rendez-vous avec la nature

Passez la dernière journée de votre aventure en kayak à travers les Mille-îles avec 1000 Islands Kayaking. Pagayez en pleine nature et renouez avec ce paysage vivant, votre groupe et vous-même.

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorJetez un coup d’œil dans TripAdvisor pour savoir ce que d’autres voyageurs disent d’Ottawa.