Images - Ottawa
  • tab_fb
  • tab_twt

Ottawa Event Calendar

8JULY

Mosaika: Sound and Light Show

July 8 - September 6, 2014

 

24JULY

Ottawa Chamberfest

July 24 – August 7, 2014

 

2AUG

Casino du Lac-Leamy Sound of Light

Aug 2 - 16, 2014 (Wed and Sat)
Canadian Museum of History

 
More Events
 

Ottawa 2017

Print

OTTAWA - Relax

The Relax Itinerary

This 2-day Relaxed itinerary is all about chilling out in Ottawa’s friendly, relaxed urban atmosphere – with side trips to the countryside and casino!

Day 1 - GO DOWNTOWN

8:30 am: Discover Canada’s Capital region with Lady Dive, as the only amphibus in Ottawa takes you on a guided tour by land and by water. Or, if you prefer to keep both feel on solid ground, Ottawa Walking Tours offers bilingual guides to show you the city’s highlights and hotspots.

10:30 am: Tour Parliament Hill or shop at the boutiques one block away on Sparks Street, Ottawa’s historic pedestrian outdoor mall.

12:30 pm: Santé Restaurant offers a cosmopolitan yet casual lunch with a fabulous view of Ottawa’s famous Rideau and Sussex streetscapes, or try D’Arcy McGee’s Irish Pub in the heart of the Sparks Street Village for genuine Irish hospitality.

2:00 pm: Enjoy a relaxing afternoon at Holtz Spa, next door to Santé Restaurant, or make your way to the ByWard Market district to peruse the market stalls filled with fresh produce and the one-of-a-kind crafts available in the shops. Then savour one of Ottawa’s sweetest traditions and a purely Canadian treat — a BeaverTail pastry.

6:00 pm: Spend your evening at Le Café, the National Arts Centre’s fabulous restaurant (reservations required). Discover the true flavours of Canada — with a global twist — offered by the NAC Executive Chef, John Morris.

7:30 pm: The National Arts Centre, a National Historic Site of Canada and home to Canada’s National Orchestra, always has something wonderful on stage, whether your choice is theatre, music or dance.

Day 2 - ELEGANT AND LIVELY

9:00 am: Hike, snowshoe or ski in the breathtaking beauty of Gatineau Park, a nature reserve with hundreds of kilometres of trails, just 15 minutes from Ottawa.

Or stay downtown and join C’est Bon Epicurean Adventures for a tasty food tour of the ByWard Market neighbourhood and see Ottawa’s culinary scene come to life.

12:00 pm: Next head to the haven that is Nordik Spa-Nature for some R&R. The largest outdoor spa in North America features an incredible array of Nordic baths in the heart of nature (only 10 minutes from downtown Gatineau-Ottawa). Enjoy Nordik’s fine dining before relaxing in the blissful tranquility of nature, saunas and baths.

Youth/family-friendly option: The ByWard Market area offers a variety of casual food and shopping options. Following lunch, visit the National Gallery of Canada, one of Canada's premier art galleries. Or follow the money and end up at the Royal Canadian Mint, where they produce handcrafted collector and commemorative coins, gold bullion coins, medals, and medallions.

6:30 pm: From its gracious home in downtown Ottawa’s Lord Elgin Hotel, to its warm contemporary ambience and locally sourced menu complete with a casual-to-sophisticated stocked cellar, Grill 41 is a perfect place for dinner.

8:30 pm: People-watching in the ByWard Market neighbourhood or along Elgin Street, or partake in the nightlife offered at pubs, bars, and bistros.

Jazz, blues, and folk are just a few of Ottawa’s fantastic music festivals during the summer months. Music fans will love the world-renowned Ottawa RBC Royal Bank Bluesfest , an 11-day festival that has boasted such headliners as KISS, Bob Dylan, The Black Keys, the Dixie Chicks and many more (see the Calendar of Events for dates). Need a winter sports fix? The Ottawa Senators, Ottawa’s National Hockey League (NHL) team, are the hottest ticket in town!

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorCheck out what other travelers say about Ottawa on TripAdvisor.

Images - Ottawa
  • tab_fb
  • tab_twt

Calendrier d'événements

8JUIL.

Mosaika : Spectacle Son et lumière

Du 8 juillet au 6 septembre 2014

 

29août

Festival de montgolfières de Gatineau

Du 29 août au 1er septembre 2014

 

10sept.

Ottawa Folk Festival

Du 10 au 14 septembre 2014

 
Plus d’ événements
 

Ottawa 2017

imprimer

Itinéraire détente

Itinéraire détente

Cet itinéraire de deux jours est axé sur la détente dans un cadre urbain – avec des petites sorties au casino et à la campagne!

JOUR 1 - En ville

8h30: Découvrez la région de la capitale du Canada à bord le Lady Dive, le seul amphibus à Ottawa, qui offre une visite guidée sur terre et sur la rivière. Si vous préférez la terre ferme, Excursions pédestres Ottawa offre des guides bilingues qui vous feront découvrir les hauts lieux de la ville.

10h30 : Visitez la Colline du Parlement ou prenez le temps de magasiner à un coin de rue de la Colline sur le Sparks Street Village, un mail piétonnier patrimonial.

12h30 : Le restaurant Santé offre un menu cosmopolite mais détendu avec vue sur les rues Rideau et Sussex; vous pouvez aussi essayer D’Arcy McGee’s Irish Pub au cœur du Sparks Street Village; on y retrouve une bonne ambiance irlandaise.

14h : Offrez-vous un après-midi de détente à Holtz Spa, à côté du restaurant Santé, ou alors allez explorer le quartier du marché By; vous y trouverez des étals où sont vendus des aliments frais et des boutiques d’artisanat uniques en leur genre. Savourez également une Queue de castor – la pâtisserie typiquement canadienne.

18h : Passez la soirée au superbe restaurant Le Café du Centre national des Arts. (Réservations obligatoires). Vous y trouverez toutes les saveurs du Canada, avec un accent international, préparées avec soin par John Morris, le chef exécutif du CNA.

19h30 : Le Centre national des Arts est un lieu historique national et le port d’attache de l’Orchestre national du Canada. Il y toujours quelque chose d’intéressant sur scène, que ce soit en théâtre, musique ou danse.

JOUR 2 - Activité et élégance

9h : Découvrez toute la beauté du parc de la Gatineau, en randonnée, en raquettes ou en skis. Le parc, avec ses centaines de kilomètres de sentiers, se situe è seulement 15 minutes d’Ottawa.

Si vous préférez rester en ville, faites une randonnée gastronomique du quartier du marché By avec les C’est Bon aventures culinaires pour découvrir le côté épicurien d’Ottawa.

12h : Votre prochain arrêt pour un repos bien mérité: Nordik Spa-Nature. Le plus important spa en plein-air en Amérique du Nord off re une grande gamme de bains nordiques au coeur de la nature et à seulement 10 minutes du centre-ville d’Ottawa-Gatineau. Profi tez de la bonne table du Nordik avant de vous plonger dans la tranquillité de la nature, des bains et des saunas.

Possibilité pour familles/jeunes : Le quartier du marché By présente un grand choix de magasins et restos informels. Après votre repas, visitez le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, un des grands musées du pays. Ou alors passez à la Monnaie royale canadienne, où l’on produit de la monnaie-lingot d’or, des pièces de collection et des médailles.

18h30 : Grill 41 est l’endroit idéal pour dîner: Il se situe à l’hôtel Lord Elgin, au centre-ville, et off re une ambiance chaleureuse et contemporaine, une table où les produits locaux sont à l’honneur, et une cave à vin avec une grande gamme de choix.

20h30 : Vous pouvez déambuler dans les rues du marché By, ou le long de la rue Elgin, ou alors sortir dans un pub, bar ou bistro de ces quartiers branchés.

En été, Ottawa est une ville de festivals de musique : jazz, blues et folk ne sont que quelques exemples de ce qu’on peut trouver. Les mélomanes apprécieront le Bluesfest RBC Banque Royale, un festival de 11 jours qui a accueilli, entre autres, KISS, Bob Dylan, Th e Black Keys et Th e Dixie Chicks. (Voir le Calendrier des événements pour les dates). En hiver, les amateurs de sport ne voudront pas manquer les Sénateurs d’Ottawa de la Ligue nationale de hockey (LNH).

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorJetez un coup d’œil dans TripAdvisor pour savoir ce que d’autres voyageurs disent d’Ottawa.