Images - Ottawa

Reserve Hotels & Packages

 
 
 
 
 
 
Getting to Ottawa
Getting Around Ottawa

Ottawa Event Calendar

17NOV

Gold Medal Plates

Nov 17, 2014
Shaw Centre

 

28NOV

Nature Nocturne: One in a Billion

Nov 28, 2014
Canadian Museum of Nature

 

3DEC

Christmas Lights Across Canada

Dec 3, 2014 – Jan 7, 2015

 
More Events
 

2014-2015Ottawa Visitor Guide

View our Ottawa Visitor Guide online to plan your stay in Canada’s Capital region.

2014-2015 Ottawa Visitor Guide
 

Ottawa 2017

Things To Do LGBT Travellers

Things To Do

Historical Places

You may know about Parliament Hill, but did you know it was the site, on Aug. 28, 1971, of Canada’s first-ever public march for gay and lesbian rights? Or that the Kelly McGinnis Library on Bank Street houses one of Canada’s most extensive collections of LGBT literature and archival material? Or that the city’s Pink Triangle Services is home to the world’s second-oldest gayline after New York’s.?

See the Supreme Court of Canada, where judges interpret Canadians’ charter rights. And don’t miss the Canadian War Museum: After the Second World War, the Canadian government paid a researcher to design a device that was supposed to help identify gays and lesbians. A version of the infamous (and notably unreliable) “fruit machine” that ruined many lives is on permanent display at the museum in the Cold War section.

Shopping Places

We’ve got big malls, small neighbourhood shops and specialized stores catering to the community. You can start in the Rideau Centre mall and the ByWard Market district downtown and branch out from there: Check out the LGBT shops in and around Bank Street in our growing downtown gaybourhood, or the antique district further down Bank Street in Old Ottawa South, or the outdoors stores and specialty shops along Richmond Road in Westboro.

In the city’s west end, take in the shops at the Bayshore Shopping Centre. In the east end, there’s St. Laurent Shopping Centre. For clothing and design, there’s high fashion along Sussex Drive, and independent retailers along Dalhousie Street, especially north of Murray Street. In between, you’ll find galleries with interesting artwork for sale. You’ll have fun exploring!

Sporting Places

We take our physical activity seriously in Ottawa. So bring your bicycle: we have over 200 kilometres (124 miles) of bicycle paths—easy paths along the city’s rivers and canals, and more challenging ones in beautiful Gatineau Park, only minutes from downtown. Bring your skates: The Rideau Canal Skateway is the world’s longest outdoor skating rink, right in the heart of the city. Some Ottawans even skate to work!

Bring your hiking boots and your skis: Gatineau Park offers downhill and cross-country skiing in winter, hiking the rest of the year. You won’t believe you can get this close to nature this close to a major city! Bring your golf clubs. There are—quite literally—100 golf courses within an hour’s drive of the city. Or bring your enthusiasm and take in a game of NHL hockey at Canadian Tire Centre, featuring the Ottawa Senators.

Day Time Places

There’s plenty to do when the sun is shining—at any time of year. From the Canadian Tulip Festival each spring, to the round of cultural festivals all summer, to Winterlude every February, you’ll find there’s plenty going on. Soak up the atmosphere in the busy ByWard Market district. Explore nearby Gatineau Park with its beaches and trails. Or take a walking tour of the Capital’s national institutions, from Parliament Hill to our superb museums.

Sample a BeaverTail—a hot, crispy pastry that is a local delicacy. You can buy them on the frozen Rideau Canal in winter and in the ByWard Market district year-round.

For something more elegant, take tea at the Fairmont Château Laurier, the city’s grand old hotel, or at the Moorside Tea Room on the Mackenzie King Estate in Gatineau Park.

Cruise along the Ottawa River or the historic Rideau Canal on one of the many Paul’s Boat Line or Capital Cruise boat tours. Or take a short hop across the Ottawa River with Au feel de l’eau’s eco-friendly electric water taxi. And for something wild that will especially appeal to children, try a visit to Parc Omega, 45-minutes east of the city near Montebello, Québec, where you can view wildlife as you drive 10 kilometres (6.2 miles) of roadways through a natural preserve.

Night Time Places

Check out the busy bar scenes in the gaybourhood near Bank and Somerset streets. Or take a walk along Elgin Street or through the ByWard Market district to get the flavour of the city. Make an evening of it at the Casino du Lac-Leamy, where you can play as well as dine and take in a show. Or explore Ottawa’s theatre scene—both the National Arts Centre and local productions.

For something different, try a haunted walk offered by Haunted Walks Inc. There are tours seven days a week in the warm weather—some in the evening, some during daytime—and weekends in the off-season.

Check out our live music scene in the ByWard Market district, and don’t forget the city’s many festivals. The Ottawa International Chamber Music Festival and the TD Ottawa International Jazz Festival are but two that offer some exciting entertainment choices at night.

Meeting Places

Ottawa is an open, welcoming place—you’ll feel that right away, all over the city. But everything has a centre, and in Ottawa the centre of gay and lesbian life is the area around Bank Street and Somerset in the downtown core. Our growing gaybourhood has shops and bars and is the home base for local institutions serving the LGBT community. Explore it by day—or by night.

But don’t feel you have to limit yourself to one neighbourhood. There are things happening all over. On Sunday evenings, for example, there’s a lesbian coffee club in suburban Barrhaven and the Rideau Speedaeus swim club works out on Wednesday and Friday evenings. You’ll find gays and lesbians all over the city, doing the active things Ottawans do. Check resources such as Dorothy’s Closet or Xtra! Ottawa for listings and up-to-date information.

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorCheck out what other travelers say about Ottawa on TripAdvisor.

Images - Ottawa

Réservez Hôtels et Forfaits

 
 
 
 
 
 
Se rendre ici
Se déplacer en ville

calendrier d'événements

24AVR

PoutineFest

Du 24 au 27 avril 2014
Mail de la rue Sparks

 

9MAI

Festival canadien des tulips

Du 9 au 19 mai 2014

 

24MAI

 
Plus d’ événements
 

2014-2015Guide touristique d’Ottawa

Consultez en ligne notre Guide touristique d’Ottawa de 2014-2015 pour planifier votre séjour dans la région de la capitale du Canada.

Guide touristique d’Ottawa de 2013-2014
 

Ottawa 2017

Les lieux où aller Voyageurs allosexuels

Les lieux où aller

Lieux historiques

Vous avez peut-être déjà entendu parler de la colline du Parlement, mais saviez-vous que le 28 août 1971, elle a été le site de la première marche publique en faveur des droits des homosexuels et des lesbiennes jamais tenue au Canada? Saviez-vous aussi que la Bibliothèque Kelly McGinnis, située sur la rue Bank, regroupe l’une des plus vastes collections de publications et d’archives sur les allosexuels qui existe au Canada? Ou bien saviez-vous que le Service du triangle rose d’Ottawa offre la plus ancienne ligne d’assistance aux homosexuels après celle de New York?

Visitez la Cour suprême du Canada, où les juges interprètent la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. Assurez-vous d’aller au Musée canadien de la guerre : après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, le gouvernement canadien a payé un chercheur afin qu’il conçoive un appareil devant aider à reconnaître les homosexuels et les lesbiennes. Un exemplaire de la tristement célèbre (et surtout pas fiable) « trieuse à fruits », qui a ruiné bien des vies, est exposé en permanence à ce musée, dans la section consacrée à la guerre froide.

Lieux de magasinage

À Ottawa, il y a de grands centres commerciaux, de petits magasins de quartier et des boutiques spécialisées qui répondent aux besoins de la communauté. Vous pouvez commencer par le Centre Rideau et le quartier du marché By au centre-ville, puis vous orienter ailleurs : jetez un coup d’œil aux boutiques répondant aux besoins des allosexuels, situés sur la rue Bank et aux alentours, dans le Village en plein essor; poursuivez votre chemin sur la rue Bank jusqu’au quartier des antiquaires dans le Vieil Ottawa-Sud ou allez voir les magasins en plein air et les boutiques spécialisées du chemin Richmond à Westboro.

Dans l’ouest d’Ottawa, le Centre commercial Bayshore offre un choix de magasins et, dans l’Est, il y a le Centre commercial Saint-Laurent. Côté mode et création, la promenade Sussex propose de la haute couture, et la rue Dalhousie, des magasins indépendants, en particulier au nord de la rue Murray. Entre les deux, vous verrez des galeries d’art qui vendent des œuvres intéressantes. Ce seront des moments d’exploration amusants!

Lieux de sport

On prend l’activité physique au sérieux à Ottawa. Apportez votre vélo : la capitale offre plus de 200 kilomètres (124 milles) de sentiers cyclables – dont certains, le long des rivières et du canal, sont faciles à parcourir et d’autres, dans le superbe parc de la Gatineau, à quelques minutes seulement du centre-ville, sont plus difficiles.

Apportez vos patins à glace : la patinoire du canal Rideau est la plus grande patinoire naturelle du monde et elle se trouve au cœur de la ville. Certains Ottaviens se rendent même au travail en patins!

Apportez vos bottes de randonnée ou vos skis : dans le parc de la Gatineau, on peut faire du ski alpin ou du ski de fond l’hiver et de la randonnée pédestre le reste de l’année. Vous aurez du mal à croire que vous puissiez être dans la nature si près d’une grande ville!

Apportez vos bâtons de golf. Il y a, à vrai dire, une centaine de terrains de golf à moins d’une heure de route de la ville.

Ou bien apportez votre enthousiasme à un match de hockey de la LNH, qui aura lieu à le Centre Canadian Tire et dans lequel joueront les Sénateurs d’Ottawa.

Lieux où aller pendant la journée

Il y a une foule de choses à faire à Ottawa quand le soleil brille – et ce, à n’importe quel moment de l’année : du Festival canadien des tulipes, qui se déroule tous les ans au printemps, jusqu’à Bal de Neige, tenu chaque année en février, en passant par la série des festivals culturels estivaux. Plongez-vous dans l’ambiance du quartier du marché By. Découvrez les plages et les sentiers du parc de la Gatineau, qui se trouve à proximité. Faites une visite guidée des institutions nationales de la capitale, parmi lesquelles figurent la colline du Parlement et de magnifiques musées.

Goûtez à une queue de castor – une pâtisserie croustillante qui se mange chaude et qui est un délice local. Vous pouvez en acheter l’hiver sur le canal Rideau, quand il est gelé, ou au marché By pendant toute l’année.

Si vous préférez faire quelque chose de plus raffiné, prenez le thé au Fairmont Château Laurier, l’ancien grand hôtel de la ville, ou au Salon de thé du domaine Mackenzie-King situé dans le parc de la Gatineau.

Faites une promenade sur la rivière des Outaouais ou sur le canal Rideau, à bord d’un bateau touristique de Paul’s Boat Line ou de Capital Cruise. Traversez simplement la rivière des Outaouais dans un bateau-taxi électrique écologique d’Au feel de l’eau. Ou bien laissez-vous emporter par une expérience qui plaît particulièrement aux enfants, la visite du Parc Omega qui se trouve à 45 minutes à l’est d’Ottawa, près de Montebello, au Québec, et où vous pouvez voir des animaux sauvages en parcourant 10 kilomètres (6,2 milles) en voiture sur les routes d’une réserve naturelle.

Lieux où aller le soir

Jetez un coup d’œil aux bars du quartier des homosexuels, situés près des rues Bank et Somerset. Promenez-vous sur la rue Elgin ou dans le quartier du marché By pour vous faire une idée de la ville. Passez une soirée au Casino du Lac-Leamy, où vous pouvez jouer, souper et assister à un spectacle. Ou bien assistez à l’une des pièces de théâtre que proposent le Centre national des Arts ou des compagnies théâtrales locales.

Vous passerez un moment inhabituel en faisant une visite à pied guidée de Haunted Walks Inc. Cette entreprise offre des visites 7 jours sur 7 quand il fait chaud – dont certaines le soir et d’autres pendant la journée – et durant les fins de semaine au cours de la basse saison.

Découvrez les musiciens qui jouent dans les établissements du quartier du marché By et n’oubliez pas les nombreux festivals qui ont lieu dans la capitale. Le Festival international de musique de chambre d’Ottawa et le Festival international de jazz d’Ottawa TD ne sont que deux des événements qui offrent un choix de divertissements captivants le soir.

Lieux de réunion

Ottawa est une ville ouverte et accueillante – c’est la sensation que vous éprouverez immédiatement dans n’importe quel quartier. Mais il y a un centre pour tout et, à Ottawa, le centre des activités des homosexuels et des lesbiennes se trouve au centre-ville, dans le secteur des rues Bank et Somerset. Dans le quartier en plein essor des homosexuels, il y a des boutiques, des bars ainsi que les domiciles des institutions locales qui servent la communauté allosexuelle. Découvrez-le pendant la journée – ou le soir.

N’ayez cependant pas l’impression de devoir vous confiner dans un seul quartier. Des activités ont lieu partout. Par exemple, le samedi soir, il y a un club de café pour les lesbiennes à Barrhaven, en banlieue d’Ottawa, et le club de natation Rideau Speedaeus a des séances d’exercice le mercredi soir et le vendredi soir. Vous trouverez dans toute la ville des lesbiennes et des homosexuels qui font ce que font les autres Ottaviens. Jetez un coup d’œil aux ressources suivantes pour obtenir des listes d’activités et des informations à jour : Dorothy’s Closet, typeQ et Xtra! Ottawa. (L’information sur ces sites Web est en anglais.)

Casino du Lac-LeamyOntario

TripAdvisorJetez un coup d’œil dans TripAdvisor pour savoir ce que d’autres voyageurs disent d’Ottawa.