Ottawa Tourism

L’Original Old Jail

The oldest prison in Ontario – and oldest public building in Prescott-Russell – L’Original Jail was built in 1825 and decommissioned in 1998.  A beautiful stone structure built in the Neo-Loyalist style, the original building had east and west wings added in 1850 and 1862 respectively.  It was the only Francophone prison facility in Ontario and is considered a central part of francophone history in the province. Five prisoners of the jail were sentenced to death, the last in 1933. Today, visitors can tour the jail as it was when it finally closed in 1998.

Visit Website

Map of L’Original Old Jail