Ottawa Tourism

Ottawa Tourism Awards 2018

Ottawa Tourism presented the 2018 edition of the Ottawa Tourism Awards on Thursday, May 3 at 6:30pm in the Newbridge Ballroom at the Brookstreet Hotel in celebration of the great successes of 2017. This year’s event welcomed more than 260 local tourism industry leaders and featured the presentation of a special Outstanding Tourism Achievement Award by the Honourable Bardish Chagger, Leader of the Government in the House of Commons and Minister of Small Business and Tourism.

Winners were chosen among 21 finalists in four major award categories:

New Company of the Year

  • Mantovani 1946
  • The Good Food Tour
  • *** WINNER *** Tim Hortons Ottawa Ice Dragon Boat Festival

Social Media/Marketing initiative of the year

  • Bytown 100 by Bytown Museum
  • *** WINNER *** Polar Bears by Canadian Museum of Nature
  • Haunted Talks by Haunted Walks
  • Summer Awareness Campaign by Ingenium
  • Music and Beyond goes Viral by Music and Beyond
  • Art Match by National Gallery of Canada
  • Get Festive by Ottawa Festival Network
  • Media Campaign Strategy by Parc Oméga

Event of the Year – Annual

  • Capital Oktoberfest 2017 by Bier Markt
  • CityFolk
  • *** WINNER *** Music and Beyond  
  • Ottawa Chamberfest
  • Haunting Season by Saunders Farm
  • Pumpkinferno by Upper Canada Village

Event of the Year – One Time

  • Canada Science and Technology Museum opening
  • World’s Largest Scavenger Hunt by Escape Manor
  • ***WINNER  – tie*** Scotiabank NHL100 Classic Weekend by Ottawa Senators  
  • ***WINNER  – tie*** 105th Grey Cup Festival by Ottawa Sports & Entertainment Group

The 2018 Ottawa Tourism Awards also presented the Outstanding Tourism Achievement award to Ottawa 2017 for its unparalleled contribution to Ottawa’s big year. Ottawa Tourism also honoured Canada 150 and Canadian Heritage for significant investments in tourism infrastructure in the Ottawa Region, as well as Steve Ball, President of the Ottawa Gatineau Hotel Association, as Tourism Leader of the Year.

“Congratulations to all of this year’s Ottawa Tourism Award nominees and winners. Your dedication day in and day out has helped make Canada’s capital a world-class tourism destination. With more than 2.5 million people taking part in the fabulous celebrations put on by Canada 150 and Ottawa 2017‎ last year, Ottawa’s tourism operators and providers should be proud of the work they’ve done,” – The Honourable Bardish Chagger, Leader of the Government in the House of Commons and Minister of Small Business and Tourism

Four other award winners were recognized at the event:

The Don Blakslee Hotelier Award was presented by the Ottawa Gatineau Hotel Association to Ross Meredith, General Manager of the Westin Ottawa.

The Ottawa Tourism Awards are coordinated by Ottawa Tourism and celebrate the individuals, organizations and events that have set high standards and demonstrated outstanding achievement, contributing to the growth and development of tourism in Ottawa and Canada’s Capital Region. 

To see more pictures of our event, please click on the following link: